Next Castle

Thank you Mario! But our princess is in another castle…

Start of Red Dead Redemption

Leave a comment

The introduction is well done. Like Grand Theft Auto IV, I get a movie-style intro. Instead of starting on a boat, however, we start on a train. It gives me an idea of the game’s setting and I hear about current events from the people sitting around me on the train. Apparently, Indians are lucky that we’ve taken their land because we’ve given them religion in return…

When I arrive at my destination, I get a quick lesson on horseback riding from an interesting character named Jake as we head out to a fort. Again, I’m reminded of GTA IV. You know the scene with Roman where you drive the taxi from the docks? And then there’s another cutscene that gives me some backstory about my character. I keep waiting for the character to come under my control, but it doesn’t happen and… eek! I get shot!

Well, at least I wake up to a nice lady (wasn’t she sitting up two seats from me on the train?) who’s paid a whopping $15 to have the doctor patch me up. I’m not really getting the logic behind how she found my nearly dead self out by Bill’s fort, but oh well. She shows me around her ranch (again on horseback) and then I help her patrol that night. I get to kill some rabbits and coyotes–controls are very similar to GTA IV, which means that I’m having problems. For some reason, they just aren’t intuitive to me. I keep hitting R1 instead of R2 to fire, which means my horse is coming to a stop and I’m missing the coyotes. Dang it! Well, maybe I’ll do better next time. The Dead Eye skill is SWEET.

Anyways, then we have a race around the ranch (which I lose by a nose because my horse bucks me twice) and I head to Armadillo to talk to Marshall about Bill (the dude whose fort I got shot at). Is anyone else wondering if Armadillo is supposed to be Amarillo? I’ve been to Amarillo before, but can’t remember what the flora looked like–I don’t think it was this much of a desert–it was near the mountains, though, and got some snow some winters (unlike where I grew up in Texas).

I kill and skin a lot of animals along the way to Armadillo. Hunting is fun! Different kinds of animals I’ve killed so far: rabbits, skunks, hawks, crows, vultures, deer, bucks, and coyotes. I’ve also collected some Feverfew. There are some fun ranks I can try for. So far, I’m already working on Rank 2 Sharpshooter, Treasure Hunter, and Master Hunter and Rank 1 Survivalist.

When I get into town, I sell some pelts, meat, and feathers at the General Store, and then spend all my money on a room at the saloon so that I can rest and save.

Author: nextcastle

My name is Ashley and I’m a gamer. I live in DFW, where I work from home writing boring instructional text. This blog is about my day-to-day experiences with games and the hours I devote to them.

Leave a Reply

