Next Castle

Thank you Mario! But our princess is in another castle…

HDTVs Are Totally Worth It

Leave a comment

My bf and I got a Panasonic 42″ 1080p LCD HDTV a little over a year ago, and I must say I am still stunned by how great my games look on it. I remember how frustrating it was to play Assassin’s Creed and Lost Odyssey (yeah, yeah, I played Lost Odyssey) on our old TV–a 20″ box set with horrible color variations across the screen. I couldn’t read the writing in the game menus and the sky was always blue -> yellow -> red tinted. Now, even if the text is ridiculously small, I can still read it because of how crisp it is. And the colors are amazing.

PS3 graphics…. my God, they’re beautiful. Uncharted 2, my first buy on PS3, was so real looking that I actually teared up a few times on my first playthrough. It didn’t hurt that the voice actors were so amazing that it felt like I was in a movie most of the time. Xbox 360 games come close–Assassin’s Creed II comes to mind. And Wii games look bright and crisp with the component cables (even though they’re at 480p). I haven’t noticed any of the pixelation/lines/jagging that people have complained about, thank God.

But yeah… totally worth the money we dropped on it. Of course, my bf’s brother has a 55″ HDTV that puts ours to shame. I can only imagine how amazing that would be…

Author: nextcastle

My name is Ashley and I’m a gamer. I live in DFW, where I work from home writing boring instructional text. This blog is about my day-to-day experiences with games and the hours I devote to them.

Leave a Reply

