Next Castle

Thank you Mario! But our princess is in another castle…

Setting Up for Dragon Age: Inquisition

Leave a comment

I know there’s been a lot of excitement over the new Qunari character option, but I still wanted to go with my usual female elf mage on first playthrough. After making my choices I got a quick synopsis of my character:

Dragon Age: Inquisition Character

Enslaved long ago by humans, most elves still live as second-class citizens within human cities. Elves who reject this life are known as the Dalish: nomadic wanderers who strive to keep the ancient elven religion and traditions alive. You grew up in the wilderness, a member of the Lavellan Dalish clan and apprentice to its leader and guide, the Keeper. The clan wandered the northern Free Marches, and you had little need to interact with humans–until the Keeper sent you to the Chantry’s Conclave as a spy. What happened there, she said, would impact not only the Dalish but indeed all elves. She could not have known how right she was.

Before I even started my new game, however, I was asked if I wanted to import a custom world state from the Dragon Age Keep. And holy crap, what a cool feature! I was literally just talking to Nick Verboon about the choices we made in Dragon Age: Origins and how they resonated so strongly. Now Dragon Age Keep allows you to create a custom world by going through and consciously making all those choices using a really beautifully designed UI.

Dragon Age Keep

It doesn’t import your past gameplay, but I actually think this way is better, because you can click through and pick and choose what choices you want to effect your new Inquisition world. And I never played Dragon Age 2 *cough*, so I just went with their default settings for that game’s choices.

Then after making all those choices and importing my custom “world state,” I spent about 30 minutes designing my character’s physical appearance. There were some things that annoyed me–the hair options are never very impressive in these games–but overall what a fun and intensive process! They actually added in a color wheel for some of the settings, so I could pick the exact eye color, make-up color, and tattoo color that I wanted. Wild! Check me out in this early scene:

Damn, but the voice acting is SUCH an improvement. Can’t wait to really get into this game.

Author: nextcastle

My name is Ashley and I’m a gamer. I live in DFW, where I work from home writing boring instructional text. This blog is about my day-to-day experiences with games and the hours I devote to them.

Leave a Reply

